Twitter has introduced a new feature where if you’ve opted to receive direct messages from anyone, all unauthorized messages will appear in a separate “Requests” inbox. It’s a way to clean up your main inbox so you can focus on conversations that probably mean more to you over messages that, for instance, say, “WIN 10K $ OverNIGHT! CLICK HERE TO PLAY PLAY PLAY!”
— Twitter (@Twitter) May 30, 2017
You can obviously accept message requests from those you don’t know or don’t follow you, while push notifications will be sent to all of your devices letting you know there’s a new request waiting. In addition, videos and images sent to you by someone you haven’t authorized yet won’t be visible until you click “Accept.” Thank God, amirite?
The feature is now rolling out to both iOS and Android users, while those using Twitter.com can expect the same change soon.