We may have just seen Facebook bring the feature to Instagram, but Google is now also allowing users to archive their pictures and videos in the Google Photos app. While viewing any picture in your gallery, just tap the overflow menu and hit “Archive” to make any photo or video private. This is Google’s way of preventing users from ultimately deleting content they may want to keep to themselves.
Mind you, when searching for images or scrolling through your albums, you’ll still see archived pictures and videos appear so they’re not exactly hidden. They’re just less visible. For instance, they won’t show up in your main photos feed which could be helpful if someone steals your phone and starts scrolling through pictures without your knowledge.