Back in December, Instagram began rolling out its live Stories feature to both iOS and Android users. However, one feature that wasn’t present at the time was the ability to save your live streams for later viewing, much like what Facebook and Periscope allow users to do. The company had originally believed that by leaving this feature out, users would feel safer about their live videos and that after 24 hours, they’d be gone for good. But it looks like Instagram is experiencing a slight change of tone in this regard, as the company has announced the ability save your live streams for viewing later on.
Starting today, you’ll have the option to save your live video to your phone at the end of a broadcast. While live videos will continue to disappear from the app when you’re done, this update gives you the flexibility to hold onto your video and re-watch it later, especially if something exciting happens during your broadcast that you want to remember or share.
Instagram says that after your live stream ends, you’ll have the chance to save it to your phone where it’ll be accessible via your camera roll but not the Instagram app itself. No comments, video stats, likes, or live interactions will be saved.
After your live broadcast ends, tap Save in the upper right corner. You’ll only be able to save your video — not the comments, likes, number of viewers or any live interactions. After saving, tap Done and your live video will be saved to your camera roll but will no longer be available in the app.
Version 10.12 is bringing this functionality now to both iOS and Android users.
- SOURCE: Instagram