Confirmed: OnePlus 3 is Launching on June 14, Invite System is Officially Gone

oneplus-3-render

OnePlus’ co-founder Carl Pei has officially confirmed that on June 14th, the company’s upcoming OnePlus 3 smartphone will launch internationally. This confirms previous rumors that the date would be sometime around that time frame. However, while he was at it, Pei also shared some exciting news with us…

As you may already know, OnePlus’ famous invite system has been used for the past three smartphones the company has already released in the beginning of resale. This meant that in order to pick up either a OnePlus One, OnePlus 2, or OnePlus X, one must have an invitation from either a fellow buyer or OnePlus themselves to make a purchase. OnePlus has announced that this requirement is officially being cancelled, and from day one of the OP3’s availability, customers will be able to grab their own OnePlus 3 freely and without any restrictions.

We’re releasing the OnePlus 3 invite-free, right from launch day. In addition, invites are gone forever from future OnePlus product launches.

OnePlus stated that even though the invite system is a special place in their history, the company wants to make their future devices more available from day one regardless.

The invite system has a special place in our history. When we first started out, our team was incredibly small. We had no idea what the demand of the OnePlus One would look like. We also weren’t fans of flash sales, where there’s a risk of everything selling out immediately, forcing fans to wait indefinitely. To address this, we designed the invite system to give customers a chance to purchase a phone as soon as we had inventory ready.

The demand for the OnePlus One was much higher than expected. Some got into a frenzy hunting for invites, while others have complained continuously and loudly ever since. Regardless though, the invite system allowed us to scale our operations and manage our risks to help us grow more sustainably.

With the OnePlus 3, we’re officially saying goodbye to invites. It’s a big step for us as a company, our fans, and fellow tech enthusiasts. After sending out millions of invites over the past two years, it’s hard to not think back to the early days and how far we’ve come. We’re proud to have reached a point where we feel confident in making our new device available without invites from day one.

OnePlus also shared some details about the launch date of the OnePlus 3 in their blog post:

We’re excited to invite you to the Loop for the official launch of the OnePlus 3 on June 14. Make sure you don’t miss out on the grand unveiling. The doors to the Loop will open at 12:30 PM Eastern Time*. During the first two hours of the launch, our new flagship device will be available exclusively in the Loop, which doubles as the world’s first global VR shopping experience. Open sales for the OnePlus 3 will begin on OnePlus.net at 3:00 PM Eastern Time. Start preparing to join the experience today and download the app now!

Launch schedules of the OnePlus 3 around the world are as follows:

  • 12.30 PM EDT (New York)
  • 9.30 AM PDT (San Francisco)
  • 4.30 PM UTC/GMT
  • 5.30 PM BST (London)
  • 6.30 PM CEST (Paris)
  • 10.00 PM IST(Bengaluru)

Are you looking forward to the launch of the OnePlus 3?


Source: OnePlus via 9to5Google




There are no comments

Add yours

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: